Press ENTER to search
FAQs

Is accessibility complicated?

Yes and no. Accessibility is mostly about common sense.

Imagine an extreme situation – a well-intentioned person tries to read your “about” page. His or her glasses are all fogged up and you’ve written everything in tiny, light grey on a white background, with no distinction between headings, paragraphs, links, buttons. You missed.

This same person is dying to listen to the interview with your CEO, but a brass band has gone upstairs with him or her in the metro. The video has no subtitles? Wrong again.

Decidedly passionate, this person is interested in a particularly relevant infographic posted the day before on your site. Bad luck, his or her smartphone is scratched and no longer renders colours accurately… Without a good caption to keep it understandable, your infographic is useless.

Three far-fetched examples, but one reality: an accessible site is one where the elements can be interpreted by the greatest number of people. Can’t see the image? It must have a caption. Can’t hear the video? It must have a subtitle. Don’t know where to click? The button should stand out and clearly indicate what it does. The characters are unreadable? It should be possible to enlarge it, or it should stand out from the background. And so on.

Accessibility is not so complicated, it requires thinking about what to put, where, and why. And for each element, to ask yourself: is it readable? Audible? Visible?

Here you will find some initial tips on how to write a page correctly. For a complete and exhaustive version, we invite you to read the WCAG 2 here in English.

We've got a brand new visual identity. Discover more about it

Fermer

Press ENTER to search
FAQs

L'accessibilité, c'est compliqué ?

Oui et non. L’accessibilité, c’est surtout beaucoup de bon sens.

Imaginez une situation extrême – une personne pleine de bonne volonté essaie de lire votre page « à propos ». Ses lunettes sont tout embuées et vous avez tout écrit en tout petit, gris clair sur fond blanc, sans distinguer les titres, les paragraphes, les liens, les boutons. C’est loupé.

Cette même personne brûle d’envie d’écouter l’interview de votre DG mais une fanfare est montée avec elle dans le métro. La vidéo n’a pas de sous-titres ? Encore loupé.

Décidément passionnée, cette personne s’intéresse à une infographie particulièrement pertinente postée la veille sur votre site. Pas de chance, son smartphone est rayé et ne rend plus fidèlement les couleurs… Sans une bonne légende pour rester compréhensible, votre infographie ne sert à rien.

Trois exemples farfelus, mais une réalité : un site accessible c’est un site où les éléments peuvent être interprétés du plus grand nombre. Vous ne voyez pas l’image ? Elle doit avoir une légende. Vous n’entendez pas la vidéo ? Elle doit avoir un sous-titre. Vous ne savez pas où cliquer ? Le bouton doit se démarquer et indiquer clairement ce qu’il permet d’effectuer. Les caractères sont illisibles ? Ils doivent pouvoir être grossis, ou bien se détacher du fond. Etc.

L’accessibilité n’est donc pas si compliquée, elle nécessite de réfléchir à ce que l’on met, où, et pourquoi. Et pour chaque élément, de se demander : est-ce bien lisible ? Audible ? Visible ?

Ici vous trouverez quelques premiers conseils pour rédiger correctement une page. Pour une version complète et exhaustive, nous vous invitons à lire les WCAG 2 ici en français ou ici en anglais.

Nous avons une nouvelle identité visuelle. En savoir plus

Fermer